2015 John Mather Nobel Scholars

In July 2015, fifteen summer interns at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center (GSFC) in Maryland were awarded John Mather Nobel Scholarships by The National Space Grant Foundation, Inc. The funding for the scholarships originated in a generous contribution from the John and Jane Mather Foundation for Science and the Arts which in turn was funded from the award of the 2006 Nobel Prize for Physics to Dr. Mather.

The award consists in the designation "John Mather Nobel Scholar," plus a $3000 scientific travel grant over a two year period.

The 2015 John Mather Nobel Scholars are:

  • Laiya Ackman - Columbia University
  • Alexander Anderson - University of Rochester
  • Lauren Chambers - Yale University
  • Madison Douglas - Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Andrea Hughes - Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
  • Qiana Hunt - University of Alabama in Huntsville
  • Keenan Hunt-Stone - Howard University
  • Ethan Julius - Cornell University
  • Karin Lehnigk - College of William and Mary
  • Anastasia Newheart - St. Mary's College of Maryland
  • Rebecca Phillipson - Colorado State University
  • Rebecca Pontius - Clemson University
  • Sahadeo Ramjatan - University of Florida
  • Trevor Reed - University of Southern California
  • Emily Sobel - State University of New York at New Paltz