2014 John Mather Nobel Scholars

In July 2014, sixteen summer interns at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center (GSFC) in Maryland were awarded John Mather Nobel Scholarships by The National Space Grant Foundation, Inc. The funding for the scholarships originated in a generous contribution from the John and Jane Mather Foundation for Science and the Arts which in turn was funded from the award of the 2006 Nobel Prize for Physics to Dr. Mather.

The award consists in the designation “John Mather Nobel Scholar,” plus a $3000 scientific travel grant over a two year period.

The 2014 John Mather Nobel Scholars are:

  • Nyki Anderson - Eastern Oregon University
  • Ryne Beeson - University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
  • Kevin Chen - University of California, Berkeley
  • Christina Chu - University of Alaska Fairbanks
  • Nina Coyle - University of Chicago
  • Jessica Fayne - George Mason University
  • Adi Foord - Goddard Space Flight Center
  • Axel Garcia Burgos - Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
  • Ayanna Johnson - Howard University
  • Lauren Kidd - The George Washington University
  • Dhaneshvaran Krishnarao - American University
  • Patricia Lawston - University of Delaware
  • Andrew Lincowski - University of Arizona
  • Jennifer Roberts - University of the Sciences in Philadelphia
  • Daniel Violette - University of Connecticut
  • Xiyu Wang - Yale University