2018 John Mather Nobel Scholars

In July 2018, fifteen summer interns at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center (GSFC) in Maryland were awarded John Mather Nobel Scholarships by The National Space Grant Foundation, Inc. The funding for the scholarships originated in a generous contribution from the John and Jane Mather Foundation for Science and the Arts which in turn was funded from the award of the 2006 Nobel Prize for Physics to Dr. Mather.

The award consists in the designation "John Mather Nobel Scholar," plus a $3000 scientific travel grant over a two year period.

The 2018 John Mather Nobel Scholars are:

Alyson Barker - George Washington University

Joel Chapman - Georgia Institute of Technology

Gabrielle Engelmann-Suissa - Columbia University

Sophie Hourihane - University of Michigan

Jillian Kunze - University of Maryland, College Park

Margaret Lazzarini - University of Washington

Tyler McCabe - Arizona State University

Katherine Melbourne - Yale University

Jack Miller - Iowa State University

Mark Moretto - University of Colorado Boulder

Ella Mullikin - Wellesley College

Madeline Roach - University of Northern Iowa

German Saltar - University of Puerto Rico - Mayaguez Campus

Samantha Wallace - University of New Mexico

Kathryn Wolfinger - University of Evansville